4AC Powered
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Forum for owners of vehicles powered by the Toyota 4AC or related engines

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

new to toyotas and their engines...

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
ae*86killer

Car : 86 Corolla rwd

new to toyotas and their engines... Empty
PostSubject: new to toyotas and their engines...   new to toyotas and their engines... EmptyMon Feb 04, 2013 7:40 pm

Hello everyone. Im from cincinnati oh.
Im pretty new to toyotas and the whole 4A engines., lets say that im a honda guy (well ex-honda guy)
A few weeks ago i picked up this 84 corolla hatch with a blown 4 AC .the guy told me that it was just the timing belt blah blah.
i replace all that, but still nothing, ny mec told me that is a bent valve ( weird because i know this are not interference engines). I went and pick up another 4ac with only 116k miles( thats whay i was told anyways)
I havent done the comp test yet. What number should i spect?
I know i cant get more than 140hp, if that with this thing. But i wanna enjoy it and learn as much as i can.
Back to top Go down
EricsFreeAE86

EricsFreeAE86

Car : 93 BMW 318is

PostSubject: Re: new to toyotas and their engines...   new to toyotas and their engines... EmptyMon Feb 04, 2013 9:02 pm

You gotta try hard to bend a valve, but it's not impossible. Whatever all you learned from Hondas will transfer to Toyotas, except Toyota engines spin the proper direction, whereas Hondas are backwards.
Back to top Go down
ae*86killer

PostSubject: Re: new to toyotas and their engines...   new to toyotas and their engines... EmptyMon Feb 04, 2013 9:41 pm

Im still looking for the VTEC lol...
Back to top Go down
EricsFreeAE86

EricsFreeAE86

PostSubject: Re: new to toyotas and their engines...   new to toyotas and their engines... EmptyMon Feb 04, 2013 9:53 pm